Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

A quiet place at the lagoon side for speaking about all and nothing (the financial crisis, sex, your country, sex, hobbies, or...sex)

Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Mortze » Sun, 15Sep06 21:55

Hello everybody.

I'd like to ask if anyone (artists or not) has tried to run DAZ Studio on Windows 10, and if yes, if there are any relevant issues?

Thank you and cheers!
User avatar
Mortze
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed, 14Oct29 02:34
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Trucla » Mon, 15Sep07 19:50

If you think about "upgrading" to Win10, first have a look here .
Cheers!
Trucla
If a guy is hungry, don't feed him! Just offer a fishing rod and teach him fishing!
User avatar
Trucla
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu, 09Jan08 00:00
Location: Helpers World
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Mortze » Mon, 15Sep07 21:01

I'm taking the cautious approach. That's why I ask "less cautious" people about their Win10 experiences [img]images/icones/icon17.gif[/img]
User avatar
Mortze
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed, 14Oct29 02:34
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby LRM » Mon, 15Sep07 21:43

I'm now on an I7 Windows 10 machine. When delivered it was Windows 8.1 and I was a die hard XP user. I HATED 8.1! 10 is better but still not equal to XP IMO.
I have not tried Dax 3D on any computer.

I only encountered one small problem with Windows 10.
My ISP includes Norton antivirus as part of my package.
When I made the switch (probably a day after 10 was released) my Norton wouldn't work and there was nothing available from Norton that did. For 3 - 4 days Home Essentials was my anti-virus. I didn't stray from known good sites and wasn't infected. Since Norton released a 10 version I go where ever I please without worry.

Please forgive my slight detour.
LRM
Got Wood?
User avatar
LRM
Moderator
 
Posts: 2784
Joined: Wed, 09Apr22 23:00
Location: Washington State USA
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Trucla » Mon, 15Sep07 21:54

Trucla wrote:If you think about "upgrading" to Win10, first have a look here .
Cheers!
OK! In other words, if you are on Win7, don't move and wait for perhaps Win15. If you are on Win8.1 think about moving but customise your settings: Win10 is the most privacy invader of all the MS operating systems ever.
Cheers!
Trucla
If a guy is hungry, don't feed him! Just offer a fishing rod and teach him fishing!
User avatar
Trucla
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu, 09Jan08 00:00
Location: Helpers World
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Mortze » Fri, 15Sep11 22:31

@Trucla

My laptop in on Win7 and that's where I mostly work and do all the things we all do in a computer.

My rendering PC runs on Win8.1, but I only use it for rendering and photoshop. Nothing else really. So if Win10 wouldn't impair these 2 functions, and only make them perform better, I'd consider the upgrade. If not, then I'll keep what I have.
User avatar
Mortze
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed, 14Oct29 02:34
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Trucla » Sat, 15Sep12 00:30

@Mortze:

Well you'll have a way to find out. Of course everything that follows only applies if you have a genuine copy of Windows 8.1.

1.- For playing safe, make a full image of your system, using Acronis True Image or similar.

2.- Go to http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software ... /windows10. Here I must say that when computers are concerned I always use English as language, because as a rule I'm unable to understand error messages in my native language. So you must find which address applies to your computer's language. Choose Windows 10 and then the 32 or 64 bits version and download the relative iso file.

3.- Burn the iso file on a DVD with the software you normally use for burning images (eg Nero). Once finished, remove the DVD and restart the computer.

4.- After restarting, insert the DVD you just created and from there, run Setup.exe. In this way, the setup reads the serial number of the original Win8, and doesn't ask for it. If you start the computer through the DVD it will ask, and I've read that some people had problems although having genuine copies with good serial numbers.

5. Near the end of setup, when configuring settings, choose "customise" (or similar), and refuse all the suggestions of M$ (they only want to know about your life).

6.- Once installed Win10, play with DAZ and Photoshop and see if you like the results. If you don't you'll just need to recover the image you had created in number 1.

Cheers!
Trucla
If a guy is hungry, don't feed him! Just offer a fishing rod and teach him fishing!
User avatar
Trucla
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu, 09Jan08 00:00
Location: Helpers World
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Mortze » Tue, 15Sep15 11:45

@ Trucla Thanks. I'll keep that in mind.

For now I'll keep waiting for feedback of more adventurous people. Since it is my only work computer with DAZ and I don't understand anything about informatics, I prefer to wait for other's results before embarking on such an adventure :)
User avatar
Mortze
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed, 14Oct29 02:34
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Greebo » Wed, 15Sep16 00:35

Trucla wrote:@Mortze:

Well you'll have a way to find out. Of course everything that follows only applies if you have a genuine copy of Windows 8.1.

1.- For playing safe, make a full image of your system, using Acronis True Image or similar.

2.- Go to http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software ... /windows10. Here I must say that when computers are concerned I always use English as language, because as a rule I'm unable to understand error messages in my native language. So you must find which address applies to your computer's language. Choose Windows 10 and then the 32 or 64 bits version and download the relative iso file.

3.- Burn the iso file on a DVD with the software you normally use for burning images (eg Nero). Once finished, remove the DVD and restart the computer.

4.- After restarting, insert the DVD you just created and from there, run Setup.exe. In this way, the setup reads the serial number of the original Win8, and doesn't ask for it. If you start the computer through the DVD it will ask, and I've read that some people had problems although having genuine copies with good serial numbers.

5. Near the end of setup, when configuring settings, choose "customise" (or similar), and refuse all the suggestions of M$ (they only want to know about your life).

6.- Once installed Win10, play with DAZ and Photoshop and see if you like the results. If you don't you'll just need to recover the image you had created in number 1.

Cheers!


One thing you need to realise if you do the freebie upgrade from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 is that if you decide Win 10 is not for you and you want to revert to Win 8.1 again, make sure you do it within a month because otherwise you will find that the folk from Redmond have left a time bomb that destroys the reversion route -- I made that mistake with my new laptop and now I'm regretting it, particularly since I'm a Linux user. I hadn't got round to setting up a dual boot to Ubuntu 15.04 and doing it from Win 10 is much harder than from Win 8.1 -- I'm strongly tempted to scrap the Windows installation all together!

By the way, the native Windows defragger is crap and I had to use a third party package (Defraggler) to clear the C: drive partition enough to shrink it to a reasonable size to create respectable partitions for the Linux install -- Windows does seem to love leaving "immoveable" files and other rubbish all over the place!

One more thing -- if you are uncertain whether you've disabled all Win 10's attempts to report your activities back to base, there is a very helpful little package that will allow you to breathe a sigh of relief
User avatar
Greebo
Great Master of corals
 
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon, 08Jan21 00:00
Location: England
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Trucla » Wed, 15Sep16 01:51

@Greebo: My dear that's why I've put the disk image as first part of the procedure. I don't trust M$ recover procedures. Personally I use Acronis, that by the way is also able to make images of my Linux box.
Thanks for the little utility, while it's not for me: I made an essay but after seeing that I couldn't choose which updates I wanted to install, i've reverted to my Windows 7 using the image previously created. At home, no Win8 (thanks to my flair) and no 10 after the two days trial.
Long life to Ubuntu!

Cheers!
Trucla
If a guy is hungry, don't feed him! Just offer a fishing rod and teach him fishing!
User avatar
Trucla
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Thu, 09Jan08 00:00
Location: Helpers World
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby leonizer » Fri, 15Sep25 23:32

No problems with Windows 10 at all - tested on a couple different machines running DAZ every single day. So go for it - it's really great OS.
User avatar
leonizer
lagoon predator
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue, 08Nov04 00:00

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby PORNO » Tue, 17Jan24 00:19

Hello, I have no problems with Daz3D on Windows 10 Home 64bit.
User avatar
PORNO
sirens hunter
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon, 17Jan23 18:35
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby muttdoggy » Tue, 17Jan24 04:12

My custom build desktop originally had Windows 7 Ultimate and runs on an AMD 970 platform. I've run Daz on the Win 7 and it did fine. Rendering took a while if I tried to make it look pretty since I was using a Nvidia GT 630. A test render with a crystal ball scene ran me about an hour. After I switched to Windows 10 Pro, it actually slowed down and froze once due to driver issues. I tried again back in September of last year after a massive round of updates to both Windows and Nvidia drivers. This time, I shaved roughly a minute or 2 off. The only difference is Drivers/Programs so something along the line is working better in Windows 10 after massive updates than it did with Windows 7.
My suggestion.. You should upgrade BUT make sure you have certified WIndows 10 drivers first. Google your GPU card and Windows 10 drivers and then read the comments.
Edited.. Since it's Daz and possibly IRay, Check the Daz/IRay forums for your card and Win 10 to see if the drivers work well with it.
User avatar
muttdoggy
lagoon predator
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Wed, 16Jan13 06:38
sex: Masculine

Re: Dax 3D Studio and Windows 10

Postby Tao Dude » Wed, 17Feb15 00:09

PORNO wrote:Hello, I have no problems with Daz3D on Windows 10 Home 64bit.


The only problem that I have had is that some of the built-in tutorials crash. No problem when I have done my own stuff.

Best,
Tao
User avatar
Tao Dude
great white shark
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat, 16Oct01 23:30
sex: Masculine


Return to The beach

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

eXTReMe Tracker