Page 4 of 5

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Tue, 17Apr18 17:34
by Mortze
I don't use DAZ native paths.
My Library content is in a custom path.
I save to folders I create.

I never got well with Presets, and never save as a Preset. Always as a Scene. Even if it is only one character or even one prop. Whenever I need that character or prop I go search them where I know they'll always be the way I saved them and merge them in to the scene.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Wed, 17Apr19 00:00
by Eldormain
That sounds like a really good idea. I think I will do that. It's too bad that I wasn't lazy about cleaning up the original save folder. But no, I had to be diligent.

Haha, I think I am getting to a point I can laugh about it. The recreation of things lost is moving along a bit more quickly then the original. The actual figure body frames and details are in tack. That would be totally nightmarish if it recent them to the model they were crafted from.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Wed, 17Apr19 02:55
by MaxCarna
Hi

I'm still amateur on Daz but followed Mortze in this suggestion from other topic, and is working just fine. Presets has specific effects, I save everything as Scenes and use "Merge..." to combine. The only exception is when I want to reuse poses in other scenes.

My structure file is something like:

MyDazProjects
...AfternoonToRemember
......DazSource
Scene01.duf
Scene02.duf
....
...........Characters
Char01.duf
Char02.duf
...
...........Enviroments
Room.duf
...
...........Parts
Chair_Room_RightCorner.duf
...
......Images
Scene01.png
Scene02.png
...
---Project 2
......DazSource
......Images
...Project 3
...

For example, if I am making images on a room and decide to add a chair in scene 5. I need to add the same chair in the position for scenes 1, 2, 3 and 4. So I delete everything but the chair, Save as scene on the "DazSource/Parts" folder.
Then is just open Scene01.duf merge "Chair_Room_RightCorner.duf", save. Open Scene02.duf, merge, save. An so on.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Thu, 17Apr20 23:38
by Eldormain
Good Stuff. Thank you.

Is it wiser for games like these to use generic names for things. For instance, Char01.duf vs AbrahamLincoln.duf?

[img]images/icones/icon13.gif[/img]

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Fri, 17Apr21 04:19
by MaxCarna
Actually, in Afternoon to Remember I took the name of the Twine boxes to name the scenes like: GoHome01.duf, GoBackToThePartySeeIfYellowBikiniGirlIsStillThere.duf, and so on, to correlate with the source of the whole story.

But my head works like spreadsheets and tables, numbers are more comfortable to me.

In other work that I'm making from zero, I first made an Excel file, with a tab "Characters". So I have:
Key: 05, Name:"Ayumi", Role "Cousin", Stats ...

And the files are just Char05_base.duf, Char05_naked.duf, Char05_work.duf...

With time, I memorize all the numbers and it's easier to me to compose, to combine, to reference in scenes, qualify clothes, poses. Like "Char01_Char05_talk.duf", "Char01_Char15_fight_level1.duf"...

You will find the best way for you

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Mon, 17May22 19:55
by YeidenLink
Hi all. first sorry about my bad english.
iam a newbie at daz3d. but iam an Interested reader on this special forum ( the workshop of creators). i read iray need a nvidia card to perform really well. i have no nvidia. but i can render with iray. its nvidia really needed?

have an onboard intel(R) HD Graphics 4600.

thanks for your answers.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Mon, 17May22 21:30
by Sarchx
Hi there,

You can render iray without nVidia, but it will take you a long time in comparison.
When you don't have an nvidia card, it will use your processor to render. Not your graphics card.
iray is a nvidia technology, which is why it only works on their cards.

You can read more about it here: https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/60609/iray-speed-nvidia-cards

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Tue, 17May23 02:03
by MaxCarna
YeidenLink wrote:Hi all. first sorry about my bad english.
iam a newbie at daz3d. but iam an Interested reader on this special forum ( the workshop of creators). i read iray need a nvidia card to perform really well. i have no nvidia. but i can render with iray. its nvidia really needed?

have an onboard intel(R) HD Graphics 4600.

thanks for your answers.


You can render CPU only, CPU+GPU and GPU only. The faster option is usually GPU only, but sometimes the card memory can't process all the scene. CPU only is the worse option, without a Nvidia card, it's the only possible.

For your first renders, to test, learn and so, try CPU only. Latter, if you decide to acquire some hardware I recommend gtx 1070. The pascal architecture made a huge jump from previous generations, the 8gb memory can render big scenes. Gtx 970 for example has only 4gb.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Tue, 17May23 16:38
by YeidenLink
Ah ok, good to know. Thanks for the Answers.

Found this in the net about Iray performance.

http://www.migenius.com/products/nvidia ... rks-2016-3

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Wed, 17May24 01:48
by fleet
When considering purchasing a video card make sure it will fit in your computer and that you power supply can handle it.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Thu, 17May25 17:41
by GDS
lawina wrote:Didn't want to start a new thread so I'm posting it here;
Is it me or do the Genesis 2 models generally look so much better than the available Genesis 3 models?

I use then both side by side, In the end they both looks almost the same, the most difference from G2 to G3 that I notice is that the G3 is the best compatible figure, meaning it can use poses and clothes from any one else with no problems, even when its from a male to a female,
Oh and the drag and move to pose works best on G3 on G2 is so-so.

fleet wrote:When considering purchasing a video card make sure it will fit in your computer and that you power supply can handle it.


I have a old card that uses 350W =/ and the newest ones(10XX) uses like 150W

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Mon, 17Jun19 23:40
by YeidenLink
fleet wrote:When considering purchasing a video card make sure it will fit in your computer and that you power supply can handle it.


GDS wrote:I have a old card that uses 350W =/ and the newest ones(10XX) uses like 150W


Thanks for the replay bought a GEFORCE GTX 1050 Ti . she use 75 watt. now the rendertime is ok.

i have a question about light. i tried many things but i still feel not satisfied with the outcome. need some adviece.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Tue, 17Jun20 00:04
by Mortze
What do you want to know specifically about lighting?

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Tue, 17Jun20 08:21
by MaxCarna
YeidenLink wrote:i have a question about light. i tried many things but i still feel not satisfied with the outcome. need some adviece.


On "daz_studio_4_x_user_guide.pdf" chapter 7 you see all about the the practical use of light tools in Daz Studio. But only on 7.6 the guide start to bring the "real thing", 3 Point Lighting Rig setup. They say you need to use at least 3 lights (key light, fill light and the rim right) in order to get a realistic scenario.

I didn't studied this part yet, I just know that is there waiting for me. Instead of studying I looked for some good assets to help me.

For external scenes, this is one is great: https://www.daz3d.com/skies-of-iradianc ... e-for-iray

I really liked this last product that I bought for interior scenes: https://www.daz3d.com/real-lights-for-daz-studio-iray

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

PostPosted: Thu, 17Jun22 00:11
by YeidenLink
Mortze wrote:What do you want to know specifically about lighting?


everything [img]images/icones/icon13.gif[/img]

i watchd tutorials on You Tube from Shannon Mear and SiekleYield about lighting.
Then i search in the net and found this site http://thinkdrawart.com/how-i-light-my- ... ray-scenes it was very helpful.
But i like to learn mutch more about lighting.

MaxCarna

thanks for the infos