DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Tips, techniques and tutorials about creation tools.

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby Mortze » Tue, 17Apr18 17:34

I don't use DAZ native paths.
My Library content is in a custom path.
I save to folders I create.

I never got well with Presets, and never save as a Preset. Always as a Scene. Even if it is only one character or even one prop. Whenever I need that character or prop I go search them where I know they'll always be the way I saved them and merge them in to the scene.
User avatar
Mortze
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed, 14Oct29 02:34
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby Eldormain » Wed, 17Apr19 00:00

That sounds like a really good idea. I think I will do that. It's too bad that I wasn't lazy about cleaning up the original save folder. But no, I had to be diligent.

Haha, I think I am getting to a point I can laugh about it. The recreation of things lost is moving along a bit more quickly then the original. The actual figure body frames and details are in tack. That would be totally nightmarish if it recent them to the model they were crafted from.
------------------------------------------------------

"Don't only practice your art, but force you way into its secrets; art deserves that, for it and knowledge can raise man to the Divine." - Ludwig van Beethoven
User avatar
Eldormain
great white shark
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu, 17Jan12 03:53
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby MaxCarna » Wed, 17Apr19 02:55

Hi

I'm still amateur on Daz but followed Mortze in this suggestion from other topic, and is working just fine. Presets has specific effects, I save everything as Scenes and use "Merge..." to combine. The only exception is when I want to reuse poses in other scenes.

My structure file is something like:

MyDazProjects
...AfternoonToRemember
......DazSource
Scene01.duf
Scene02.duf
....
...........Characters
Char01.duf
Char02.duf
...
...........Enviroments
Room.duf
...
...........Parts
Chair_Room_RightCorner.duf
...
......Images
Scene01.png
Scene02.png
...
---Project 2
......DazSource
......Images
...Project 3
...

For example, if I am making images on a room and decide to add a chair in scene 5. I need to add the same chair in the position for scenes 1, 2, 3 and 4. So I delete everything but the chair, Save as scene on the "DazSource/Parts" folder.
Then is just open Scene01.duf merge "Chair_Room_RightCorner.duf", save. Open Scene02.duf, merge, save. An so on.
User avatar
MaxCarna
great white shark
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed, 16Jun15 06:01
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby Eldormain » Thu, 17Apr20 23:38

Good Stuff. Thank you.

Is it wiser for games like these to use generic names for things. For instance, Char01.duf vs AbrahamLincoln.duf?

[img]images/icones/icon13.gif[/img]
------------------------------------------------------

"Don't only practice your art, but force you way into its secrets; art deserves that, for it and knowledge can raise man to the Divine." - Ludwig van Beethoven
User avatar
Eldormain
great white shark
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu, 17Jan12 03:53
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby MaxCarna » Fri, 17Apr21 04:19

Actually, in Afternoon to Remember I took the name of the Twine boxes to name the scenes like: GoHome01.duf, GoBackToThePartySeeIfYellowBikiniGirlIsStillThere.duf, and so on, to correlate with the source of the whole story.

But my head works like spreadsheets and tables, numbers are more comfortable to me.

In other work that I'm making from zero, I first made an Excel file, with a tab "Characters". So I have:
Key: 05, Name:"Ayumi", Role "Cousin", Stats ...

And the files are just Char05_base.duf, Char05_naked.duf, Char05_work.duf...

With time, I memorize all the numbers and it's easier to me to compose, to combine, to reference in scenes, qualify clothes, poses. Like "Char01_Char05_talk.duf", "Char01_Char15_fight_level1.duf"...

You will find the best way for you
User avatar
MaxCarna
great white shark
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed, 16Jun15 06:01
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby YeidenLink » Mon, 17May22 19:55

Hi all. first sorry about my bad english.
iam a newbie at daz3d. but iam an Interested reader on this special forum ( the workshop of creators). i read iray need a nvidia card to perform really well. i have no nvidia. but i can render with iray. its nvidia really needed?

have an onboard intel(R) HD Graphics 4600.

thanks for your answers.
User avatar
YeidenLink
Pilot fish
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu, 17May18 19:45
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby Sarchx » Mon, 17May22 21:30

Hi there,

You can render iray without nVidia, but it will take you a long time in comparison.
When you don't have an nvidia card, it will use your processor to render. Not your graphics card.
iray is a nvidia technology, which is why it only works on their cards.

You can read more about it here: https://www.daz3d.com/forums/discussion/60609/iray-speed-nvidia-cards
Sarchx
User avatar
Sarchx
great white shark
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu, 16Jun09 16:44
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby MaxCarna » Tue, 17May23 02:03

YeidenLink wrote:Hi all. first sorry about my bad english.
iam a newbie at daz3d. but iam an Interested reader on this special forum ( the workshop of creators). i read iray need a nvidia card to perform really well. i have no nvidia. but i can render with iray. its nvidia really needed?

have an onboard intel(R) HD Graphics 4600.

thanks for your answers.


You can render CPU only, CPU+GPU and GPU only. The faster option is usually GPU only, but sometimes the card memory can't process all the scene. CPU only is the worse option, without a Nvidia card, it's the only possible.

For your first renders, to test, learn and so, try CPU only. Latter, if you decide to acquire some hardware I recommend gtx 1070. The pascal architecture made a huge jump from previous generations, the 8gb memory can render big scenes. Gtx 970 for example has only 4gb.
User avatar
MaxCarna
great white shark
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Wed, 16Jun15 06:01
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby YeidenLink » Tue, 17May23 16:38

Ah ok, good to know. Thanks for the Answers.

Found this in the net about Iray performance.

http://www.migenius.com/products/nvidia ... rks-2016-3
User avatar
YeidenLink
Pilot fish
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu, 17May18 19:45
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby fleet » Wed, 17May24 01:48

When considering purchasing a video card make sure it will fit in your computer and that you power supply can handle it.
Check out my latest adult visual novel "The Privateer and the Governor's Niece"
at http://the-new-lagoon.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3895
fleet
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 886
Joined: Mon, 11May16 00:01
sex: Masculine

Re: DAZ3D - Beginner Questions

Postby GDS » Thu, 17May25 17:41

lawina wrote:Didn't want to start a new thread so I'm posting it here;
Is it me or do the Genesis 2 models generally look so much better than the available Genesis 3 models?

I use then both side by side, In the end they both looks almost the same, the most difference from G2 to G3 that I notice is that the G3 is the best compatible figure, meaning it can use poses and clothes from any one else with no problems, even when its from a male to a female,
Oh and the drag and move to pose works best on G3 on G2 is so-so.

fleet wrote:When considering purchasing a video card make sure it will fit in your computer and that you power supply can handle it.


I have a old card that uses 350W =/ and the newest ones(10XX) uses like 150W
[*]Suddenly a Party!:http://the-new-lagoon.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3965
[*]Matt and the Bus stop Girl:http://the-new-lagoon.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3666
User avatar
GDS
lagoon predator
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat, 16Jan02 12:36
sex: Masculine

Previous

Return to The workshop of creators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

eXTReMe Tracker