Animation Frames

Games in project or under development. The posts and games in this section can not ask for money.

Animation Frames

Postby tlaero » Wed, 13Dec04 18:31

I'm working on improving Adventure Creator's ability to do animations. (You can currently do forward and loop. I'm adding reverse and pingpong.) So I've been thinking about Animations a lot lately. I've heard people say things like they're going to do 30 frame animations in their games, but I think that's a waste. As a developer, I think about the tradeoffs and such a thing seems off. I'm pretty sure the best animation Phreaky and I have ever done is 5 frames, with most being 3.

As a player, if you had the following choices in a sex scene, which would you prefer?
1 animation pose with 30 frames
3 different poses with 10 frames each
6 different poses with 5 frames each
10 different poses with 3 frames each

I think 6 is the sweet spot, but I'm curious what others think.

Tlaero
tlaero
Lady Tlaero, games and coding expert

sex: Female

Re: Animation Frames

Postby Super » Wed, 13Dec04 18:50

At the rate I move to the next scene, I kind of prefer still images to animations. Especially since animations tend to be repetitive. For instance, in a lot of games it's just watching the same animation over and over instead of new scenes. I find the sex in Christine much more erotic because a lot is happening. I dunno if that makes sense, but I tend to prefer stills because I don't like staring at a single thing too long. I guess if it was very long and isn't the same animation of a thrust over and over it might be different, but if prefer that time and energy to be soent on still graphics personally.
Super
legend of the South Seas

sex: Masculine

Postby Wolfschadowe » Mon, 13Dec09 22:33

I think an occasional animation to these games adds a layer of immersion, when it's used right.