Best Game Engine For a NEW Game

Games in project or under development. The posts and games in this section can not ask for money.

Best Game Engine For a NEW Game

Postby velteyn » Sun, 13Jul28 14:57

Hi all,

I'm a noob and I want to start to build my own game.

After many many researches I personally think that the best engine for a game with the story like Nanny's Day could be a Sim's 2 !! That's because there would be much more freedom for the player to interact with each others and many more puzzle to solve !!

Unfortunately there is no Sim's 2 open source game engine... [img]images/icones/icon11.gif[/img] as far as I know...

So , the question is : is there a game engine free/open that is similar to Sims 2 \ 3 ?

I'm also considering Irrlicht but the work to build up a game for that would be tremendous...

What do you think
velteyn
sirens hunter

sex: Masculine

Re: Best Game Engine For a NEW Game

Postby Super » Sun, 13Jul28 17:00

You mean a game where you control their lives like Sims? That would be near impossible for any hobbyist, let alone a newbie.

The easiest engine would probably be tlaero's adventure creator, but that would only be useful for making games like Keeley or the vdategames. And you'd still need to make the graphics yourself

If you want to make a life sim like the sims, you'd first need to learn a lot of programming.
Super
legend of the South Seas

Postby velteyn » Mon, 13Jul29 14:32

Ah , that's not a big problem for me :) I'm a professional programmer (C++, C# and java)

The problem is that I cannot build an engine all alone :)I must use one present in the market ..

I know Torque 3D from Garagegames and Neoaxis too... But Im still convinced that a sims like engine should be perfect !! But I cannot find one open ... And I think that we cannot use sims engine for a modded game....

I'll continue the research.
velteyn
sirens hunter

Postby prayForPlague » Mon, 13Jul29 17:10